

Minutes of the Meeting of the Lapeer Community Schools Board of Education held on Thursday, August 4, 2016 at the Administration and Services Center

Mike Keller, President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Denise Becker, Peggy Bush, Wendy Byard, Brad Haggadone, Mike Keller, Gary Oyster

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mike Nolan.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Peggy Bush led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

INTRODUCTION OF NEW PRINCIPALS

Matt Wandrie introduced Robert Downey, new principal of Turrill Elementary, and Katie Jordan, new principal of Murphy Elementary to the Board of Education.

PRESENTATION

Tony Diadoto, Jon Uran, and Elizabeth Lowe from the Robotics team updated the Board on their program, the FREE Robo Con Community Event, and their accomplishments from 2015-2016. How can we more formally tie PLTW with Robotics? Sue Wilmers has agreed to become part of the Robo Con committee and can help with this ambition.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REPORTS

Mrs. Becker reported on the Student Advocacy Committee Meeting that was held on June 11 at 9:00 AM when the committee met at the Dort Federal Event Center.

ACTION ITEMS

Consent Items

- 1. That the minutes from the July 7, 2016 Organizational Meeting be approved as presented.
- 2. That the minutes from the July 14, 2016 Special Meeting be approved as presented.
- 3. That the Board Retreat previously scheduled for August 18 be changed to August 11, 2016 at 6 PM.
- 4. That the MHSAA Membership Resolution be approved as presented.

Moved by Gary Oyster, supported by Bradly Haggadone, that the reading of the minutes be waived and the consent agenda items be approved as presented. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 6-0.

Lapeer Transportation Association 2016-2017 Master Agreement

Moved by Wendy Byard, supported by Denise Becker, that the Lapeer Transportation Association 2016-2017 Master Agreement be approved as presented. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 6-0.

Lapeer School District Administrators' Association 2016-2017 Master Agreement

Moved by Gary Oyster, supported by Bradly Haggadone, that the Lapeer School District Administrators' Association 2016-2017 Master Agreement be approved as presented. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byardaye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 6-0.

BOARD MEMBER COMMUNICATIONS/TOPICS

Board members welcomed the new principals to the District and thanked Tony Diadato and his team for their presentation. Board members were proud to see the announcement of one student qualifying for National Scholar and 79 as AP Scholars. They are very pleased with the success of the AP Program in our District.

SUPERINTENDENT COMMENTS

Superintendent Wandrie thanked Kim Seifferly and the negotiating team for having settled 5 of 7 contracts. He thanked the Board members and administrators for attending the Open Carry Forum that was held for parents on August 3.

Mr. Wandrie stated that Mr. Tony Diodato is not a teacher by trade, but is one our most talented educators. He thanked him for his work with the Robotics team.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Peggy Bush supported by Wendy Byard, that the meeting be adjourned. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:55 PM.

Peggy Bush, Board of Education Secretary